Conservation Committee Board Report

9/14/2023

Chair: Sylvan Kaufman

Committee Members: Rachel Jankowitz (Taos), Kevin Floyd (El Paso), Rose Lion (Otero), Laurel Berry (Otero), Renee Galeano-Popp (Santa Fe), Ken Steigman (Las Cruces), Phil Hastings (Gila), Pam McBride (Albuquerque).

Sylvan Kaufman took over as chair on July 27 after Rachel Jankowitz resigned. The new email for the Conservation Committee is conservation@npsnm.org and emails from the former gmail account are being forwarded currently.

The committee met virtually on June 6 to discuss the committees role and to develop a mission statement and guidelines. The mission statement and guidelines on advocacy are:

Mission Statement: The Conservation Committee supports the mission of the Native Plant Society of New Mexico by monitoring issues affecting the status of native plants and natural habitats and informing and educating the board and general membership about these issues. The committee advocates for actions based on scientific principles that conserve native plant biodiversity, promote appropriate use of native plants to conserve water, land, and wildlife, and that foster connections between people and plants.

Guidelines: Advocacy includes, but is not limited to, endorsements, statements, research, and conservation activities. Advocacy requires that we understand, use, and extend the best scientific knowledge available to support decisions related to native plant conservation. The Committee endeavors to work collaboratively with other agencies to accomplish its conservation goals.

Under Rachel's leadership, a letter was submitted on the BLM Conservation and Landscape Health Rule on 6/17/23 jointly with the Arizona and Colorado Native Plant Societies.

Revisions to the web site pages on Conservation have been proposed and will have been forwarded to the webmaster by the September board meeting.